Stern IT‎ > ‎

Graduating Students

Answers to frequently asked questions about your Stern accounts

When does my e-mail account expire?
For NYU Stern graduates, your Stern NetID based Gmail account will not expire. You will continue to have access to your Gmail, Docs and Calendar and will receive future updates from Google.

Will I be able to keep my personal address (firstname.lastname@stern)?
Yes. You may keep your personal address (i.e. firstname.lastname@stern.nyu.edu), if you have one set.

Will I continue to have access to Stern Life?
You will continue to have access to Stern Life. Your Stern Life dashboard will change to the Alumni view and the available links will change. You will continue to have access to your Stern Gmail and other Google services via Stern Life. You will no longer have access to student-specific web services and applications such as Qualtrics.

When do I lose access to my Stern web applications?
You will lose student access to Stern service three months after graduation.

Will I be able to access my H: drive after this?
Once you lose student access three months after graduation you lose access to your H: drive and other network spaces. You will not be able to access your data after this point in time. You should move your data onto a USB drive, your personal computer, or a cloud drive (such as Google Drive).

How long do I have access to my courses in NYU Classes?
NYU Classes will be available through the end of 2021. Until that point, you will have access to your classes in NYU Classes as long as the professor keeps the course available. The professor may make the course unavailable at any time after the course ends. Do not rely on having access to a course site after the course has ended. If you wish to keep something from the course, download the materials.

How long do I have access to course recordings?
Course recordings are available for 1 year after the course ends provided you have the URL to access the recording. Your professor may request a recording be archived at any time after the course ends. Archived recordings are not available for viewing.